Alliance for Children is a private, nonprofit organization governed by a Board of Directors. Our board members serve as key advocates for young children and their families, and they represent business and civic groups, churches, local government, health and human service agencies, parents and education and nonprofit organizations.

They are all volunteers who contribute their expertise, professional resources and time to advance Union County’s vision for its youngest citizens, encourage progress, and energize local change. By empowering staff, responding to community needs, and strategically managing resources, our Board of Directors is building a stronger future for Union County.

The Board of Directors makes decisions regarding the allocation of public dollars.

Board of Directors

Nina Chaffin
Josh Francis
Angela Greene
Jack Hargett
Andrew G. Houlihan, Ed.D.
Angelia James
Dennis Joyner
Michelle Lancaster
Ashley McBride
Cheryl Neely

Gwen Perkins, M.D.
Maria Pharr, Ed.D.
Gene Robbins
Baxter Starnes – Treasurer
Christa Tyson
Mark Watson
Hayne White – Chair
Lorey White – Secretary
Lauren Williams
Roy Young


Cynthia Hogston, Ed. D
Maria Lander, Ed. D.
Patrick Niland
Karen Tucker